Bachelor of Health Sciences in Medical Laboratory Science

The four year BHSc Medical Laboratory Science includes the following disciplines:

  • Medical Microbiology - the study of micro-organisms
  • Clinical Chemistry - diagnostic biochemical analysis
  • Haematology - the study of blood cells and blood diseases
  • Cytology - the study of human cells
  • Histology - the study of human tissue

For the last 18 months of the programme, the four-year BHSC MLS degree includes CLINICAL PRACTICE in accredited training laboratories in Port Elizabeth, East London and Mthatha. Subject to the availability of placements, students living in Port Elizabeth may be placed in East London and Mthatha for the duration of the Clinical Practice period.

In the fourth year of studies, an area of specialisation in which they will practice will be selected from the following specialized disciplines:

  • Clinical Pathology
  • Clinical Chemistry
  • Haematology
  • Microbiology
  • Cytology
  • Histology
  • Cytogenetics
  • Immuno-haematology
  • Immunology
  • Virology
  • Forensic Science
  • Pharmacology

*Please note that the offering of a specialisation will depend on the academic capacity, the number of enrolled students and positions available in practice.*

Master of Health Sciences in Medical Laboratory Science

Doctor of Philosophy (Medical Laboratory Science)